Full List of New Federal Universities In Nigeria

Full List of New Federal Universities In Nigeria


In this post, we’ve highlighted these eight (8) new federal universities and their respective profiles. In 2011, the federal government of Nigeria established some new federal universities to ease admission process for nigerian students.

  1. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State

Located in Lafia in Nasarawa State, FULafia was one of the nine universities created by the Federal Government to increase access to and improve the quality of education in states that have no Federal university.
In 2011 when the University was founded, Professor Ekanem Ikpi-Braide was appointed as the Vice Chancellor. He was replaced by the current Vice Chancellor, Professor Muhammad Sanusi Liman in 2016.
The university began operating in September 2012 with 247 students registered in 11 programmes in the faculties of Arts, Science and Social sciences. The programmes include:
  • English and Literary studies,
  • History,
  • Visual and Creative Arts
  • Mathematics,
  • Computer science,
  • Microbiology,
  • Chemistry,
  • Physics,
  • Political science,
  • Sociology
  • Economics
  1. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State

Popularly called, Fulokoja, this new Federal University was established in February 2011. The faculties in the university include the Faculty of Sciences, Faculty of Art and the Faculty of Social Sciences.
  1. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State

Established with a vision to become a world class institution of higher learning attracting and training brilliant and talented young people from diverse backgrounds in Gombe and beyond to become leaders of tomorrow
The university was established in response to the memorandum presented by the Minister of State for Education, Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi to establish additional tertiary institution to address the twin challenges of access to educational development of States in the Federation.
On the 9th of February, 2011, the Vice Chancellor and Registrar of the newly formed university were established, they were Professor Mohammed Kabiru Farouk, and Dr. Abubakar Aliyu Bafeto respectively.
  1. Federal University, Wakari, Taraba State

Established in Wakari in Taraba, this Federal University was one of the 9 universities that were approved for take-off under the Phase I of the Government initiative to establish Federal tertiary institutions in every State of the Federation, where they do not currently exist.
  1. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State

Federal University Dutsin-Ma built by the administration of former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan. It was founded in February 2011
  1. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State

Established in 2011 along with 8 other Federal Univeritiy, the Federal University Dutse (FUD) offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs (Pgde.Msc. and as well as PhD)
FUD is located in Dutse town in Jigawa State. The university offers 17 degree programs in Humanities, Natural Science, Social Sciences, Agricultural Science, Medicine, Law, Engineering and Management Science.
The initial enrollee of the university number 205 with over 1332 academic and non-academic staff.
FUD established its College Of Medicine and Health Science in its 5th academic calendar. The University is the first and only Nigerian University offering an intercalated MBBS Program. The Faculty runs the following programs:
Federal University Dutse
  • Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery
  • Dental Surgery
  • Environmental Health
FUD established its School of Postgraduate Studies in 2014. Currently, the school runs 10 Post Graduate Courses which include MSc and PhD degrees.
  1. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State

Located in Otuoke, this Federal University took off with 282 students. The university offers undergraduate programs in the Faculty of Science, Management Science, Social Science and Humanities, Education, Engineering and Technology as well as Health Sciences.
  1. Federal University, Ndufe-Alike, Ebonyi State

Popularly called FUNAI, the Federal University, Ndufe-Alike is located in Ebonyi State in the South Eastern Part of the Country.
FUNAI was established with the objective of combining academic excellence with an innovative and entrepreneurial approach to research, supporting a culture that engages and challenges students and staff in their quest for learning production of graduates with relevant hands-on, sellable and employability skills who will soar in their chosen careers
Currently, the University has 7 Faculties
  • Agriculture
  • Basic Medical Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering and Technology
  • Humanities
  • Management and Social Sciences
  • Sciences


Contact Form


Email *

Message *


Popular Posts